Can I quit?

I’ll admit, I’m kind of slow. I can be told all the facts about a situation, and I can recite those facts. I’ll even understand those facts, but I won’t get it until a month later. Same goes for music. I’ll listen to a song. I’ll love the song, I’ll sing the lyrics, but if you asked me what the song was about, I wouldn’t be able to tell you. Then about a month later, a light bulb will go off in my head and I’m either shocked, disturbed or amused because I didn’t realize how bad or clever a song was.

I’ve been working this new job for about a month.  During training, one of my trainers told me not to do customer service.  It doesn’t pay more and it’s more stressful. I sort of shrugged it off because I’ve done it before for another company and it wasn’t really a big deal. Yesterday, following a month of training, I was asked if I wanted to do customer service along with some other tasks. I agreed, already knowing I wasn’t going to get paid more, but the tasks came along with the title “Supervisor”. The title made me excited and I was happy. Now this company that I’m working for likes to make a profit. What company doesn’t, but they are really taking advantage of students and people in need of jobs, and here’s why.

  1. Everyone gets paid minimum wage. No matter how many additional tasks you take on, you’re only making the minimum. Unless you’re a manager I assume.
  2. All employees are part-time. You know what that means, no benefits. So even though I’m part-time, if they start giving me full-time hours, I’ll still be considered part-time and I will never be able to have any health benefits. I doubt they even offer any. So I’ll have to see about getting my own health plan.
  3. Before the company opened up, they had all their minimum wage employees helping with the clean up. That’s not what I hired for. Why am I cleaning up? Shouldn’t clean up be something people volunteer for or something a hired crew would do?

This company overcharges for their services and offers their employees the bare minimum so that the managers and bosses and owners can profit. It’s ridiculous. I feel like I’m the only person who realizes this also. My co-workers seem to be oblivious to this because everyone is always smiling all the time and happy and I don’t get it. It makes me wonder if all employment in this city is like this everywhere, because most of the people I work with are working two jobs. I was kind of scared to get another job, because I wouldn’t know how to manage two jobs part-time if there is no set schedule, but my employer is expecting way to much from their employees and they aren’t offering very much in return. They also keep scheduling me out of my availability. They aren’t paying attention to repeated requests.

I briefly looked into started a union, but I’m not friends with anyone I work with, and I wouldn’t be sure how to bring it up. Also, because it appears as though everyone is wearing rose-coloured glasses, I’m scared someone will go back and tell management, then I’ll get fired and be jobless. So I’ve decided that I’ll just take on the other tasks. I don’t want to be stuck doing the same thing everyday. If I don’t like the responsibility, I’m going back to the one task, looking for another job and quitting. Or maybe do the two. I don’t know. I’m never sure of what I want to do. I tend to go back and forth for weeks, but I don’t like how this company works. If I can find full-time somewhere else, I’ll take it. I really need to start looking for something else though.

ReNn

Leave a Reply

